My Top 3 Contemporary Reads

Okay don’t kill me. But this list does not have even a single John Green book.

Hey everyone, this month is going to be the Literature Month. So all books, recommendations, TBRs and Reviews.

YA Contemporary is my favourite genre of all because it gives us an insight to real world and real life and real (Or sometimes unreal) girl-boy problems.

So here we go, buckle up homie.

1. I’ll Give You The Sun – Jandy Nelson

Whew! Do I have any words? No. Do I got something to say? Holy Yes! This book changed my perspective towards the LGBT community and made me understand what being a real artist means. Love, loss and tragedy. All these in an exquisitely impressive mixture like no other.imgp5325.jpg

Favourite quote:-

“Or maybe a person is just made up of a lot of people,’ I say. ‘Maybe we’re accumulating these new selves all the time.’ Hauling them in as we make choices, good and bad, as we screw up, step up, lose our minds, find our minds, fall apart, fall in love, as we grieve, grow, retreat from the world, dive into the world, as we make things, as we break things.”

Read This. Please.

2. All The Bright Places – Jennifer Niven

This book gives you the story from two perspectives. A guy who wants to die and a girl whose words died with her sister. As depressing as it sounds, believe me, it as an exhilarating ride. You will love the characters and the end leaves you in a pool of tears but a light heart. Because finally, someone said what you had been dying to.

(Is that too many die and dying in a para? Hmm, maybe.)tumblr_static_tumblr_static_avo0awyllewos4sg4w8swwo0o_640.jpg

Favourite quote:-

“Worthless. Stupid. These are the words I grew up hearing. They’re the words I try to outrun, because if I let them in, they might stay there and grow and fill me up and in, until the only thing left of me is worthless stupid worthless stupid worthless stupid freak. And then there’s nothing to do but run harder and fill myself with other words: This time will be different. This time, I will stay awake.”

3. If I stay – Gayle Forman

The author of Just one day and Just one year brings us this unique piece which talks about hanging in the middle, in comatose. The main character is left with a choice as her conscious self (In the carnal form) wanders in the world as her body is in the hospital. The dilemma is : Should I stay or should I leave?If_i_stay_book_cover.jpg

One heck of an amazing read . If you liked I’ll give you the Sun then this is your next awesome sauce.

“Am I dead? I actually have to ask myself this.”

And this book was made into a movie. So, that is a plus.

So grab a cup of coffee (I mean that is what we do) or tea and just get to it. The paperbacks are beautiful. Absolutely recommend them. Sorry, I don’t like hardbacks (Yikes).

Love,

Liz

Leave a Reply

